Cake with Creme Caramel

I finally did it. I momoftwins came back after 1 year and +6 months later to my dormant blog. Even though I was away from my blog did not neglect my favorite blogs. I kept reading, admiring those beautiful pictures, trying some of that admirable food, cooking more and more. But no time for pictures.

I am one of those people who like to serve food straight out of the oven while the food is sizzling. And at the same time my family would be sitting at the dining table waiting to be served. I just can’t find myself telling them” wait a minute this is the Kodak moment, let me take some pictures” Well I guess I should work on this sizzled food issue a little :)

While I was away, I cooked many Asian recipes, explored the Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Food. Especially My holy month Ramadan was a challenging month. I was none stop exploring cuisines..

I just have to make time for my Kodak moments :)

Cake with Crème Caramel is the one I was lucky to capture it. I adopted this recipe from http://www.Nestle-family.com

ingredients:

* ¾ cup sugar or 150 g
* 1 tin NESTLÉ® Sweetened Condensed Milk or 397 g
* 2½ cups boiling water or 600 ml
* 5 eggs
* 2 teaspoons vanilla powder
*
For the cake:
* 1 cup plain flour or 140 g, sifted
* 3 eggs
* ½ cup butter or 100 g, softened
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* ¼ teaspoon baking soda
* Lemon zest, one small lemon only

The original recipe doesn’t include sugar. But I added 5 Tbsp sugar to cake batter.
Preparation

Place the sugar in a 25cm round baking pan, place the pan on low heat until sugar melts and becomes caramel. Remove from heat and turn the pan around to coat the base and the sides. Set aside.

Combine NESTLÉ® Sweetened Condensed Milk , water, eggs and vanilla in a bowl. Stir until well-combined. Then pour the mixture over the caramel in the pan.

Combine the flour, eggs, butter, baking powder, baking soda and lemon zest in a large bowl. Beat the mixture with an electric whisk, beat on medium speed for 4 minutes.

Pour the cake mixture in the middle over the cream mixture, bake in a pan filled with water in 160°C preheated oven for 45-50 minutes or until the cake is baked.

Remove from oven and allow cooling. Then place in fridge for 2-3 hours until totally cooled.
Flip over serving dish and serve.
Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Cake with Creme Caramel

  1. Kekin görüntüsüne bayıldım.Özellikle karamelin kıvamına.Malesef yoğunlaştırılmış sütü burada bulmam mümkün değil.Çünkü yaşadığım yer çok küçük ve imkanları kısıtlı.
    Ben karemelimi kendim yapıyorum.O da çok güzel oluyor :)

    Birde kek malzemelerinin içinde şeker yok mu,yoksa yazmayı mı unuttun?
    Ellerine sağlık Momoftwins.Allah’a emanet ol…

  2. Cahide iyiki dikkatini cekti. Nestle tarifinde seker kullanmamis. Fakat ben tatsiz olabilir korkusuyla 5 yemek kasigi toz seker kek harcina ekledim. Ara sira karameli normal sutlede yaptigim oluyor. Aslina bakarsan dogal sutun karemele daha guzel bir renk verdigi kanisindayim.

  3. Neredesin arkadaşım? Uzun zamandır sayfanı güncellemeyince merak ettim doğrusu.
    Herşey yolundadır inşaallah.Allah’a emanet ol…

Leave a Reply

