Puff Pastry Cheese Pockets

picture-001

You can’t experience Turkish Food without including one of the most popular pie in Turkey and its neighbor countries.! They are always included on the meze (appetizer) menu.

Who would say no to these mouth watering cheese pockets? I know  my family wouldn’t:) Especially my daughter.. I wish she was with me not in USA right now that I can bake these for her all the time:(   (Yeah!!  I miss her a lot, she is studying in USA, wants to become a dentist..)

Sorry,I got distracted for a minute:)))

This  recipe is so easy and quick to make, they can be prepared in no time and served for your family and guests.

Ingredients:

10 pieces of puff pastry dough (shaped in square)

1 cup of crumbled feta cheese

1/2 cup coarsely chopped parsley

1 egg (Separate egg yolk for the egg wash)

Salt& black pepper

1 table spoon nigella seeds

Combine all the filling ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

Lay wax paper in a large baking tray

Taking one pastry sheet at a time, then place 1 or 2 teaspoons of filling on the pastry in the middle.

Taking one corner, fold it over diagonally to create a triangle shape and seal it with fork just pressing the edges slightly.

Place the cheese pockets on the baking tray 2 inches away from each other.

Brush the tops of the pockets with the egg yolk and sprinkle seeds.

Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes or until light golden – 200 C, 375F

Serve warm.

Enjoy the taste..

One thought on “Puff Pastry Cheese Pockets

  1. This is one of my favorite boreks! Turkish cuisine is so rich and delicious! I will be visiting your blog often to read more from you. I cook a lot of Turkish at home myself too, but I am sure there is still a lot for me to learn. Your blog will surely come in handy. Sevgilerim ve selamlarimla. Feride

Leave a Reply

