Cranberry-Apple Custard Strudel

It was 4 o’clock in the morning in Jordan, and I was very sleepy. I’d had a very busy day and unfortunately there was no time for me to sit in front of the computer.

Picnik collage2

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

I know my recipe doesn’t look like a traditional strudel, but a baker needs a change of pace every now and then. I was searching the internet to get an idea of  something unconventional that I could bake, so I end up stumbling upon a page that had beautiful pictures of ‘Vol Au Vent’  pastries stuffed with savory meat and topped with a sauce. At that moment, I pictured a stuffed cranberry pudding strudel with chocolate sauce drizzled on top. My next move was how to go about making this pastry. I had two thoughts, one, to grab a frozen packet of ready made ‘Vol Au Vent’ pastry  and take the easier way out, and two, to be a daring baker and create the pastry manually. I decided to go with option 2, and ended up making the puff pastry myself. The recipe was adopted from http://www.indobase.com/recipes/details/vol-au-vent.php

The recipe for the stuffing was adopted from www.dairygoodness.ca

P.S:- I added a little twist of my own to the recipe , rather than having vanilla cream as the topping, I chose to drizzle chocolate sauce instead.  Bon a petit! Enjoy.



6 thoughts on “Cranberry-Apple Custard Strudel

  1. OMG, not only do I love the addition of the custard, but your strudels are so gorgeous and unique in shape. Right out of a high end restaurant! Awesome job!

  2. I agree! If they were in a bakery window, my face would be plastered against the glass. Can’t wait to hear how you did the custard!

Leave a Reply

